The Albert County Museum and RB Bennett Centre have been Awarded the Senate of Canada Sesquicentennial Medal!

Senate of Canada Sesquicentennial Medal

The Senate 150th Anniversary Medal commemorates the first time senators came to Ottawa to sit in Parliament, on November 6, 1867. 

The medals are being awarded to Canadians or permanent residents actively involved in their communities who, through generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work, make their hometowns, communities, regions, provinces or territories a better place to live. 

The front of the medal features the Senate’s badge and the reverse side depicts the Senate Chamber. A space is provided to inscribe the name of the recipient.

The medal was designed by Lt.-Col. Carl Gauthier, Director of Honours & Recognition at the Department of National Defence, the organization responsible for much of the work that goes into honouring the extraordinary men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces.

Senators each received 12 medals to award.

Our Medal was awarded by the Honourable Senator Carolyn Stewart Olsen - Senator for New Brunswick for "the lifetime work the Historical society has done making the province a better palce for the people who live here". Senator Stewart Olsen will be presenting the medal at a ceremony at Mount Allison University.

The ceremony will take place Saturday December 9, 2017 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m (approx.) at Purdy Crawford Centre for the Arts, Mount Allison University, 152 Main Street, Sackville, New Brunswick. 

About the medals

  • The medals measure 7.6 centimetres (three inches) in diameter and be seven millimetres (one-quarter inch) thick, which is the same size as the Confederation Medal 1867.  
  • They are made from Muntz metal, an alloy comprised of bronze, copper and zinc.
  • The finish of the medal is matte in bronze.